2017 Annual Meeting results

April 15, 2017

Joe Wheeler EMC Annual Meeting and Board Elections

TRINITY – Joe Wheeler EMC’s eightieth Annual Meeting was held April 15 to update members on the business of the cooperative and elect Board Members from districts 4, 5, and 6. The election results, announced at the meeting, are as follows:

The District 4 incumbent Jimmie Halbrooks ran unopposed and received 3,176 votes. District 5 incumbent Linda Owens ran unopposed, receiving 3,189 votes. District 6 incumbent Charles Segars defeated opponents Rita Sims and Teresa Haynes. A total of 3,708 votes were cast in the District 6 election with Mr. Segars receiving 2,227 votes, Mrs. Sims receiving 749 votes and Mrs. Haynes receiving 732 votes. As Mr. Segars garnered 60 percent of the vote there will not be a runoff.

During the business meeting, General Manager George Kitchens gave a brief history of Joe Wheeler EMC, commemorating their 80 years of service. He also presented a financial overview for the current year. In a first for the electric co-op, the entire business meeting was streamed live on Facebook for members to watch from anywhere.

At the conclusion of the meeting, ten J.R. Knouff Scholarships in the amount of $2,000 were awarded. The scholarships went to: Heather Gilmore of Laceys Spring, Hunter Lee of Decatur, Myra Pruitt of Decatur, Macie Randolph of Trinity, Brooklyn Sivley of Hartselle, Cassidy Cheatham of Trinity, Dillon Powell of Town Creek, Claire Forsythe of Hartselle, Autumn Terry of Moulton, and Jayde Terry of Trinity.

2017JWEMC Annual Meeting PR